Daydream Mom

Conceive it, at least attempt it. Whatever IT may be.

Create Easy, Yet Cool, Art w/ Your Tot

Leave a comment

As a mother to a 23 month old boy AND a teacher to a classroom of 12-24 month olds, I can 100% say that I have my moments when I rather forego the creative art projects! But I’m an artist at heart (amongst many other things) and just can’t stand to live a day without creating something….

When my little boy was just 8 months old I’d paint with him. I’d stick his foot in some paint and make footprints, or let him have at it with some crayons or markers.
PhotobucketPhotobucket

 

Yes, creating art can be messy as hell! But it’s so much fun and more than anything life-long memories are created.

So, today while I was browsing Apartment Therapy I ran across this spectacularly awesome painting project via Blog Me Mom. It’s called “resist painting”. The good thing about this resist painting method is it’s fool-proof, easy prep work, and the finished product looks like Fine Art.

Well, maybe not fine art, but still pretty close for a toddler.

Here’s my son’s, Nezrah, version of resist painting with a Thomas the Train motif.
Photobucket

It literally took 2 minutes to trace the outline of a Thomas toy train he has, cut it out, and tape it down to a clean sheet of cardstock. Now that I think about it we should’ve used blue paint!

I ♥ it!

BannerFans.com

Care to try Resist Painting?? What motif/cutout would you create for your little one(s)??!

Vote for me @ Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

Author: consciouslybirthing

Moon Manifesting Intuitive and Mentor, empowering women to harness their powers using the cycle of the Moon.

Leave a Reply

